Regional Partnership

For many years, the primary focus of South Shore Arts was visual arts programming geared to artists and residents of Northwest Indiana and south suburban Chicago. In 1997 our purpose expanded when we were appointed to serve as a Regional Arts Partner of the Indiana Arts Commission, providing grants and other arts-related services for arts and other nonprofit organizations throughout Lake, Porter and LaPorte counties.


In 1997, the Indiana Arts Commission (IAC) and twelve community-based organizations jointly established the Indiana Regional Partnership Initiative, a collaborative project to enhance support for arts and cultural activities statewide, especially in underserved areas. The partnership was developed to address issues that arose out of an IAC strategic planning process: 1) the desire for easy access to quality technical assistance that would further the financial, managerial, and artistic development of arts providers, and 2) the desire for more local control in the allocation of state resources for the arts.


The mission of the Partnership is to provide broad, local access to services and funding opportunities for the arts throughout the state of Indiana. Available services include but are not limited to information and referral, technical assistance and regranting of state and federal funds. In collaboration with the Indiana Arts Commission, the Regional Arts Partnership exists to promote participation in and advocacy for the arts in Indiana.


Do you need funding for your organization? Find out if you're eligible by contacting Donna Catalano, Special Projects Director. Here is a list of grantees for Fiscal Year 2018:

Theatre at the Center
Indiana Ballet Theatre
LaPorte Symphony Orchestra
Lubeznik Center for the Arts
Chicago Street Chesterton Art Center
Towle Performing Arts Company
Beachfront Dance School, Inc.
Lakeshore Community Concerts
South Shore Dance Alliance, Inc.
Memorial Opera House
Books, Brushes & Bands for Education
Miller Beach Arts & Creative District
Northwest Indiana Symphony Society, Inc.

Lakeshore Public Media
Discovery Charter School
Spring Into the Arts
Dunes Learning Center
Michigan City Chamber Music Festival, Inc.
Memorial Opera House Foundation
South Shore Brass Band
Boys & Girls Clubs of Northwest Indiana
Opportunity Enterprises
Boys & Girls Clubs of Porter County
All About Art, Inc.
Duneland Family YMCA
Frontline Foundations, Inc.
Top 20, Inc.
South Shore Chamber Orchestra
Northwest Indiana Excellence in Theatre Foundation
Town of Munster/Board of Parks and Recreation
Indiana University Northwest
African American Achievers Youth Corps, Inc.
For Goodness Sake Productions
Ballet Folklorico Tapatio Co. of Northwest Indiana
Sociedad Cultural Y Civica La Reforma
Crown Point Community Theatre, Inc
Taltree Arboretum & Gardens
Whiting/Robertsdale Community Improvement Corporation
Family Folklore Foundation, Inc.


This body of volunteers represents a variety of arts-related interests from throughout Lake, Porter and LaPorte counties. The Council's purpose is to advise the South Shore Arts Board of Directors in matters relative to the Regional Arts Partnership. The following individuals are currently serving two year terms on the Council, which meets on alternating months at the Dorothy Buell Memorial Visitors Center in Porter, Indiana:

Irene Smith-King - South Shore Arts Vice President of Regional Services
Philip Bauman - Northwest Indiana Symphony
Janet Bloch - Lubeznik Center for the Arts
Larry Brewer - South Shore Dance Alliance
Jeffrey Brown - Valparaiso University
Jeff Casey - Towle Performing Arts Company
Laura Cutler - Thaddeus C. Gallery
Linda Eisenhauer - Arts Supporter
Matt Franklin - Lakeshore Public Media
Michelle Golden - Books, Brushes and Bands
Judy Gregurich - Artist
Trish Hales - Purdue University Northwest, Hammond Campus
Katie Holderby - South Shore Convention & Visitors Authority
Kari-Ann Innes - Confucius Institute
Judy Jacobi - Purdue University Northwest, Westville Campus
Marilyn Leonian - Arts Supporter
Jane Lohmeyer - All About Art
Wendy Marciniak - Chesterton Art Center
Don Parker - South Shore Orchestra
Philip Potempa - Theatre at the Center
Meg Roman - Miller Beach Arts & Creative District
Thomas Sufana - Arts Supporter
Gloria Tuohy - Indiana Ballet Theatre Northwest